What is the Trans-Pacific Partnership?

By Durham Chamber of Commerce / Published 03.15.16
Back to Feed

On March 8, the Durham Chamber, in partnership with Business Forward, held a business leader briefing with Robert D. Manogue, director of the Office of Bilateral Trade Affairs, U.S. Department of State. Manogue provided an update on TPP the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

TPP would reduce or eliminate 18,000 tariffs on American exports. It contains chapters governing e-commerce, intellectual property, and state-owned enterprises and is the first free trade agreement to include a chapter specifically for small and medium-sized businesses. The agreement also includes the most enforceable labor and environmental standards in any agreement of its kind. TPP member countries include:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • United States
  • Vietnam
  • Chile
  • Brunei
  • Singapore
  • New Zealand

Read more on TPP at the following links