Elected leadership on all levels of government is critical to the business climate of Durham.  We believe it is important for you to know who represents you as well as the contact information for their offices.

In this section:

City of Durham

Elected Officials

Mayor
William V. “Bill” Bell
919-560-4333 ext. 10269
bill.bell@durhamnc.gov
Mayor Pro Tem
Cora Cole-McFadden
919-560-4396 ext. 10277
cora.cole-mcfadden@durhamnc.gov
 Document (1) Councilman
Charlie Reece
919-560-4396 ext. 10274
charlie.reece@durhamnc.gov
Document Councilwoman
Jillian Johnson
919-560-4396 ext. 10278
jillian.johnson@durhamnc.gov
davis_eddie_preferred Councilman
Eddie Davis919-560-4396 ext. 10272
eddie.davis@durhamnc.gov
Moffit Councilman
Don Moffitt
919-560-4396 ext. 10276
don.moffitt@durhamnc.gov
Schewel Councilman
Steve Schewel
919-560-4396 ext. 10273
steve.schewel@durhamnc.gov

Department Heads

City Manager Tom Bonfield 919-560-4222 tom.bonfield@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager W. Bowman “Bo” Ferguson 919-560-4222 bo.ferguson@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager Wanda Page 919-560-4222 wanda.page@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager Keith Chadwell 919-560-4222 keith.chadwell@durhamnc.gov
Clerk D. Ann Gray 919-560-4166 ann.gray@durhamnc.gov
Finance David Boyd 919-560-4455 david.boyd@durhamnc.gov
Fire Daniel Curia 919-560-4242 daniel.curia@durhamnc.gov
Human Resources Regina Youngblood 919-560-4214 regina.youngblood@durhamnc.gov
Planning Sarah Young 919-560-4137 sarah.young@durhamnc.gov
Police Cerelyn Davis 919-560-4322 cerelyn.davis@durhamnc.gov
Public Affairs Beverly Thompson 919-560-4123 beverly.thompson@durhamnc.gov
Public Works Marvin Williams 919-560-4326 marvin.williams@durhamnc.gov

Committees and Boards

Environmental Affairs Board Rachel McIntosh-Kastrinsky ramcinto@gmail.com
Recreation Advisory Commission Rhonda Parker 919-560-4355 rhonda.parker@durhamnc.gov
City-Council Appearance Commission Matthew FIlter 919-560-4137 matthew.filter@durhamnc.gov

Durham County

Durham County elected officials:

Elected Officials

wendy jacobs Chairman
Wendy Jacobs
919-530-5263
mpage@dconc.gov
 James hill Vice Chair
James Hill
919-536-8820
jahill@dconc.gov
heidi carter Commissioner
Heidi Carter
919-225-4268
hcarter@dconc.gov
 Howerton 2 Commissioner
Brenda Howerton
919-544-4160
bhowerton@dconc.gov
Ellen Reckhow Commissioner
Ellen Reckhow
919-383-3883
ereckhow@gmail.com

Department Heads

County Manager Wendell Davis 919-560-0000 wdavis@dconc.gov
General Manager of Community & Public Safety Jodi Miller 919-560-0000 jomiller@dconc.gov
General Manager of Public Health & Community Well-Being Gayle Harris 919-560-0000 gharris@dconc.gov
General Manager of Strategic Management, Innovation, Public Affairs & Special Projects Deborah Craig-Ray 919-560-0000 dcraig-ray@dconc.gov
General Manager of Financial Affairs, Process Improvement and Government Efficiency Claudia Hager 919-560-0000 chager@dconc.gov

Chief of Staff Drew Cummings 919-560-0000 dcummings@dconc.gov
Clerk  V. Michelle Parker-Evans 919-560-0025 mparker-evans@dconc.gov
Finance George K. Quick 919-560-0041 gquick@dconc.gov
Planning Sara Young 919-560-4137 sara.young@durhamnc.gov
Public Information Dawn Dudley 919-560-0008 ddudley@dconc.gov
Sheriff Mike Andrews 919-560-0897 sheriff@durhamsheriff.org

Committees and Boards

Durham Public Schools Board of Education

 

Chair Mike Lee – mike.lee@dpsnc.net
Vice Chair Natalie Beyer – natalie.beyer@dpsnc.net
Xavier Carson xavier.cason@dpsnc.net

Minnie Forte-Brown – minnie.forte-brown@dpsnc.net
Bettina Umstead bettina.umstead@dpsnc.net 
Steve Unruhe- steven.unruhe@dpsnc.net
Matt Sears – matt.sears@dpsnc.net

For more information about Durham Public Schools committees or boards,
Contact June Snyder 919-560-2502  june.snyder@dpsnc.net

North Carolina General Assembly

Durham’s elected officials in the North Carolina General Assembly:

House of Representatives

mary ann black MaryAnn Black (District 29)
MaryAnn.Black AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 501
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Lehman Philip Lehman (District 30)
Philip.Lehman AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1111
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Michaux Henry M. Michaux, Jr. (District 31)
Mickey.Michaux AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1227
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Graig Meyer Graig R. Meyer (District 50)
Graig.Meyer AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1426
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

Senate

MIke Woodard Mike Woodard (District 22)
Mike.Woodard AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 518
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
McKissick Floyd B. McKissick, Jr. (District 20)
Floyd.McKissick AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 515
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

 

United States Senate

Our representatives in the United States Senate:

Senator_Thom_Tillis_Official_Portrait Thom Tillis
Washington, D.C.
185 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: 202-224-6342
Fax: 202-228-2563
Raleigh
310 New Bern Avenue, Suite 122
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: 919-856-4630
Fax: 919-856-4053
My Portrait Sessions Richard Burr
Washington, DC
217 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-3154
Fax: (202) 228-2981
Winston-Salem
2000 West First Street
Suite 508
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
Phone: (336) 631-5125
Fax: (336) 725-4493

United States House of Representatives

Durham’s elected official in the United States House of Representatives:

David Price
Washington, D.C.
U.S. House of Representatives
2162 Rayburn Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.1784
Fax: 202.225.2014Durham
411 W. Chapel Hill Street
NC Mutual Building, 9th Floor
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: 919.688.3004
Fax: 919.688.0940
 GK Butterfield G. K. Butterfield
Washington, D.C.
U.S. House of Representatives
2080 Rayburn Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.3101
Durham

411 W. Chapel Hill Street
Suite 905
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: 919.908.0164
Fax: 919.908.0169

 220px-George_Holding George Holding
Washington, D.C.
U.S. House of Representatives
1110 Longworth Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.3032
Fax: 202.225.0181

Raleigh
6404 Falls of Neuse Road
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27615
Phone: 919.782.4400
Fax: 919.782.4490

 mark Walker David Price
Washington, D.C.
U.S. House of Representatives
1305 Longworth Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.3065
Fax: 202.225.8611

Greensboro
809 Green Valley Road
Suite 104
Greensboro, NC 27408
Phone: 336.333.5005

Committees

Local, State and Federal  Legislative Committee

Our Local, State and Federal Legislative Committee is the first stop within the Chamber on positions taken related to legislative items, bond or sales tax campaigns and/or endorsements. This committee is designed to provide an overview on current and future issues related to businesses as they develop within local, state and federal government circles.

Chamber staff ensures that committee members have the opportunity to hear from a variety of State leaders.  Past guests include: N.C. State Treasurer, Janet Cowell, Secretary of the N.C. Department of Commerce, J. Keith Crisco, Congressman David Price (D-4th Congressional Dist.), Durham City and County Manager’s along with administrative staff from Durham City and County government.

The committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month, at 8:15 am at the Chamber offices. Meetings are free and open to all.

Transportation Committee

The Durham Chamber is one of the only chambers in the region to have a committee specifically focused on transportation issues.  Transit is extremely important to future development within the Research Triangle Region. It is projected that by 2025, one million people will be added to the current population.

The Chamber’s Transportation Committee meets on the fourth Tuesday of the month, at noon, at the Chamber offices. This meeting is free and open to the public.  Committee members include local elected officials, transit advocates, agency heads, business owners, staff of local, state and federal government offices and agencies as well as administrative staff from the Research Triangle Park and local universities.

Presentations are given from transit experts. Past topics include a look at local, state and regional transit plans, legislative updates from the North Carolina Department of Transportation and new technology used for multimodal purposes.

For more information or to reserve your seat at an upcoming committee meeting, please contact John White at jwhite@durhamchamber.org.

Other transportation links:

Links

State and federal links

Local Links