Elected leadership on all levels of government is critical to the business climate of Durham.  We believe it is important for you to know who represents you as well as the contact information for their offices.

In this section:

City of Durham

Elected Officials

Mayor
William V. “Bill” Bell
919-560-4333 ext. 10269
bill.bell@durhamnc.gov
Mayor Pro Tem
Cora Cole-McFadden
919-560-4396 ext. 10277
cora.cole-mcfadden@durhamnc.gov
  Councilman
Eugene Brown
919-688-9314
eugene.brown@durhamnc.gov
Councilwoman
Diane C@otti
919-560-4396 ext. 10278
diane.c@otti@durhamnc.gov
davis_eddie_preferred Councilman
Eddie Davis
eddie.davis@durhamnc.gov
Councilman
Don Moffitt
919-560-4396 ext. 10276
don.moffitt@durhamnc.gov
Councilman
Steve Schewel
919-560-4396 ext. 10273
steve.schewel@durhamnc.gov

Department Heads

City Manager Tom Bonfield 919-560-4222 tom.bonfield@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager Ted Voorhees 919-560-4222 theodore.voorhees@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager Wanda Page 919-560-4222 wanda.page@durhamnc.gov
Deputy City Manager Keith Chadwell 919-560-4222 keith.chadwell@durhamnc.gov
Clerk D. Ann Gray 919-560-4166 ann.gray@durhamnc.gov
Finance David Boyd 919-560-4455 david.boyd@durhamnc.gov
Fire Bruce Pagan 919-560-4242 bruce.pagan@durhamnc.gov
Human Resources Alethea Bell 919-560-4214 aletha.bell@durhamnc.gov
Planning Steve Medlin 919-560-4137 steve.medlin@durhamnc.gov
Police Jose L. Lopez, Sr. 919-560-4322 jose.lopez@durhamnc.gov
Public Affairs Beverly Thompson 919-560-4123 beverly.thompson@durhamnc.gov
Public Works Marvin Williams 919-560-4326 marvin.williams@durhamnc.gov

Committees and Boards

Environmental Resources Vickie Westbrook 919-560-4381 vickie.westbrook@durhamnc.gov
Parks & Recre@ion Advisory Board Rhonda Parker 919-560-4355 rhonda.parker@durhamnc.gov
Planning and Appearance Steve Medlin 919-560-4137 steve.medlin@durhamnc.gov

Durham County

Durham County elected officials:

Elected Officials

page new shot strawbridge Chairman
Michael Page
919-530-5263
mpage@dconc.gov
  Vice Chair
Brenda Howerton
919-544-4160
bhowerton@dconc.gov
Commissioner
Fred Foster, Jr.
919-479-8305
ffosterjr@dconc.gov
 Wendy_Jacobs Commissioner
Wendy Jacobs
919-401-3538
wjacobs@dconc.gov
Ellen_Reckhow Commissioner
Ellen Reckhow
919-383-3883
ereckhow@gmail.com

Department Heads

County Manager Wendell Davisn 919-560-0000 wdavis@dconc.gov
Deputy County Manager Jodi Miller 919-560-0000 jomiller@dconc.gov
Deputy County Manager Marqueta Welton 919-560-0000 mwelton@dconc.gov
Assistant County Manager Deborah Craig-Ray 919-560-0002 dcraig-ray@dconc.gov
Assistant County Manager Drew Cummings 919-560-0065 dcummings@dconc.gov
Clerk Michelle Parker-Evans 919-560-0026 mparker-evans@dconc.gov
Finance George K. Quick 919-560-0043 gquick@dconc.gov
Planning Steve Medlin 919-560-4137 steve.medlin@durhamnc.gov
Public Inform@ion Dawn Dudley 919-560-0008 ddudley@dconc.gov
Sheriff Mike Andrews 919-560-0897 sheriff@durhamsheriff.org

Committees and Boards

Durham Public Schools Board of Education

Chair Heidi Carter – heidi.carter@dpsnc.net
Vice Chair Minnie Forte-Brown – minnie.forte-brown@dpsnc.net
Natalie Beyer – natalie.beyer@dpsnc.net
Leigh Bordley – leigh.bordley@dpsnc.net
Sendolo Diaminah – sendolo.diaminah@dpsnc.net
Mike Lee – mike.lee@dpsnc.net
Matt Sears – matt.sears@dpsnc.net

For more information about Durham Public Schools committees or boards,
Contact Angela Pinnix 919-560-0025 apinnix@dconc.gov

North Carolina General Assembly

Durham’s elected officials in the North Carolina General Assembly:

House of Representatives

Larry D. Hall (District 29)
Larry.Hall AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 510
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Paul Luebke (District 30)
Paul.Luebke AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 513
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Henry M. Michaux, Jr. (District 31)
Mickey.Michaux AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1220
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
Graig R. Meyer (District 50)
Graig.Meyer AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC House of Representatives
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1111
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

Senate

Mike_Woodard Mike Woodard (District 22)
Mike.Woodard AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 515
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
Floyd B. McKissick, Jr. (District 20)
Floyd.McKissick AT ncleg DOT net
Legislative Mailing Address:
NC Senate
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 520
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

 

United States Senate

Our representatives in the United States Senate:

thom_tillis Thom Tillis
Washington, D.C.
G55 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: 202-224-6342
Fax: 202-228-2563
Raleigh
310 New Bern Avenue, Suite 122
Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone: 919-856-4630
Fax: 919-856-4053
Richard Burr
Washington, DC
217 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-3154
Fax: (202) 228-2981
Winston-Salem
2000 West First Street
Suite 508
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
Phone: (336) 631-5125
Fax: (336) 725-4493

United States House of Representatives

Durham’s elected official in the United States House of Representatives:

David Price
Washington, D.C.
U.S. House of Representatives
2162 Rayburn Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202.225.1784
Fax: 202.225.2014

Durham
411 W. Chapel Hill Street
NC Mutual Building, 9th Floor
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: 919.688.3004
Fax: 919.688.0940

Committees

Local, State and Federal  Legislative Committee

Our Local, State and Federal Legislative Committee is the first stop within the Chamber on positions taken related to legislative items, bond or sales tax campaigns and/or endorsements. This committee is designed to provide an overview on current and future issues related to businesses as they develop within local, state and federal government circles.

Chamber staff ensures that committee members have the opportunity to hear from a variety of State leaders.  Past guests include: N.C. State Treasurer, Janet Cowell, Secretary of the N.C. Department of Commerce, J. Keith Crisco, Congressman David Price (D-4th Congressional Dist.), Durham City and County Manager’s along with administrative staff from Durham City and County government.

The committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month, at 8:15 am at the Chamber offices. Meetings are free and open to all.

Transportation Committee

The Durham Chamber is one of the only chambers in the region to have a committee specifically focused on transportation issues.  Transit is extremely important to future development within the Research Triangle Region. It is projected that by 2025, one million people will be added to the current population.

The Chamber’s Transportation Committee meets on the fourth Tuesday of the month, at noon, at the Chamber offices. This meeting is free and open to the public.  Committee members include local elected officials, transit advocates, agency heads, business owners, staff of local, state and federal government offices and agencies as well as administrative staff from the Research Triangle Park and local universities.

Presentations are given from transit experts. Past topics include a look at local, state and regional transit plans, legislative updates from the North Carolina Department of Transportation and new technology used for multimodal purposes.

For more information or to reserve your seat at an upcoming committee meeting, please contact John White at jwhite@durhamchamber.org.

Other transportation links:

Links

State and federal links

Local Links