What are you looking for?

Scroll

Public Policy

The Chamber is the voice of businesses throughout Durham. We monitor and advocate for issues affecting our community, region, state, and nation. Subscribe to updates here, check in often, participate in our upcoming events, and join us in working with our partners in local elected offices. Contact Bryan Fox, Vice President of Public Policy, anytime at bfox@durhamchamber.org or 919-328-8724.

PRIORITIES

Employers are fundamental to Durham’s rich history and continue to create prosperity in the forms of jobs and taxes along with their products. As the local economic development leader, the Chamber further empowers our community by sustaining and growing inclusive, diverse, innovative, and collaborative businesses.

On behalf of our members, we maintain constant communication and opportunities to engage with our partners at the local, regional, state, and federal levels to influence direct and indirect business issues like economic development, workforce development, education, health, transportation, housing, community safety, and sustainability.

In recognition of a positive economic development climate to which we offer constant local and regional maintenance, in 2019 the Chamber will focus on enabling educators to grow talent from early childhood, increased access to affordable quality healthcare, transportation funding acceleration, local housing efforts, and sensible data security.

How to Stay Involved

Public Policy Forums

The Durham Chamber brings experts together throughout the year to work with members on emerging issues.

Check our Events Calendar for these and related opportunities to engage.

Learn More

Durham County

Board of Commissioners

Wendy Jacobs

Chair

wjacobs@dconc.gov

919-530-5263

James Hill

Vice Chair

jahill@dconc.gov

919-536-8820

Ellen Reckhow

Commissioner

ereckhow@gmail.com

919-383-3883

Brenda Howerton

Commissioner

bhowerton@dconc.gov

919-544-4160

Heidi Carter

Commissioner

hcarter@dconc.gov

919-225-4268

City of Durham

City Council

Steve Schewel

Mayor

steve.schewel@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10269

Jillian Johnson

Mayor Pro Tempore

jillian.johnson@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10278

Charlie Reece

Councilmember

charlie.reece@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10274

Vernetta Alston

Councilmember

vernetta.alston@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10273

DeDreana Freeman

Councilmember

dedreana.freeman@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10272

Mark-Anthony Middleton

Councilmember

mark-anthony.middleton@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10277

Javiera Caballero

Councilmember

javiera.caballero@durhamnc.gov

919-560-4396 ext. 10272

NC & US

Find Your State & Federal Representatives:

Here

Programs

Talent Forums

Our quarterly Talent Forums bring together partners for local updates on education, workforce development, and streamlining the business community’s involvement.

Check our Events Calendar for these and related opportunities to engage.

Learn More

Public Policy committee

The Public Policy Committee works with our Board of Directors to track issues and develop an agenda, and encourage active participation in government in a pro-business environment.

Learn More